Scholarship Reviews 2016

Scholarship Reviews 2016
Reported by Henry Wong, WGAHK Vice-Chairman (Scholarship)

We are delighted to announce the winners of this year’s scholarship:

WGAHK 2016 Scholarship Winner: Mr. Sachin Mohanani (MMORSE)

The WGAHK 2016 Scholarship is worth HK$30,000 (fully sponsored by WGAHK). The scholarship is an one-off award to be deducted from the winner’s academic fees for the first year of their studies at The University of Warwick in the academic year 2016/17.

We received overwhelming support for the WGAHK scholarship this year with over 30 applications. Members of the screening panel met on 27th August 2016 to conduct screening of applications for the panel interview. The screening panel consisted of ten members who are Warwick graduates from a variety of disciplines and backgrounds, namely Steven Lo, Henry Wong, Ken Or, Shirley Chau, Vicky Lee, Alvin Lam and Michael Chu.

WGAHK 2016 Scholarship Winner: Mr. Sachin Mohanani (MMORSE)


The scholarship award presentation took place at the annual freshers’ cocktail reception organised by the Warwick Hong Kong Public Affairs and Social Service Society on 17th September 2016. Each of the short-listed candidates was invited to the event and was awarded a certified letter issued by WGAHK as well as a HK$500 book voucher as a token of encouragement for their achievements.

Founded in 2001, the WGAHK Scholarship Fund marks its 15th Anniversary in 2016. It is the first Warwick scholarship established by local alumni associations outside the U.K. Taking this opportunity, I would like to express heartfelt gratitude to all donors who have contributed to the establishment of this meaningful scholarship, and to all WGAHK executive members and scholars who have assisted in the successful running of this year’s exercise.

If you would like to support the scholarship with donations, please write to us at, or simply fill in the online donation form on the WGAHK website.

WGAHK 2016 Scholarship short-listed candidates

Name Warwick Undergraduate Course
Mr. Sachin Mohanani MMORSE
Ms. Jasmine Cheng Economics and Industrial Organization
Ms. Christine Ip Philosophy, Politics and Economics
Ms. Katie Chow Law
Mr. Hung Chit Tse Economics

On 3rd September 2016 the short-listed candidates attended a panel interview. Members of the Judge Panel included the following:

WGAHK 2016 Scholarship Judge Panel

Ms. Lisa Djeng Warwick graduate (BSc Economics)
Chairperson, WGAHK
WGAHK Scholarship Founding ChairpersonExecutive Director, Keywise Capital Management (HK) Limited
Dr. Justin Robertson Warwick graduate (PhD Politics and International Studies)

Associate Professor in the Department of Asian and International Studies, City University of Hong Kong

Ms. Loren Tang Warwick graduate (BSc Accounting and Financial Analysis, MSc Management Science and Operational Research)

Audit Partner, KPMG China
Member of HKICPA